Knowledge and Fun at The Same Time

Which of these do you agree with?

  • Intelligence is fixed at birth.
  • Some people are creative, others aren’t.
  • You can become a world-class expert through enough practice, whatever your starting point.
  • You can change your personality.

That was a pop quiz from How to Change Your Mindset for Growth by Ali Luke. Whatever your answer is, it reflects how your mindset is, whether you have a fixed mindset or a growth mindset. If you agree with the first two statements, you’re coming from a fixed mindset, otherwise you’ve got a growth mindset.

“Hi, I am Usfa Kurniawan and you’re not”

That’s how I will introduce myself in this new blog since I actually have no idea to make the first post attractive. I’ve researched through my browser about it, and I accidentally found that the first post should at least contains (1) who I am; (2) why I am blogging; (3) what I will be blogging about; and (4) how readers can leave feedback. Thus, in this first post, I will do all those 4 points.

Who I am

Industrial Engineering. What will you think when you hear those words? Manufacturing? Factories? Those-huge-and-famous manufacturing companies? FMCG? Or an engineering student’s life which is full of tasks and projects and deadlines and deadlines and deadlines? Yes, that’s me, an industrial engineering student. If you think I’m passionate about manufacturing or mechanical things, you’re wrong.

My hobby? I love travelling and exactly taking photographs of my travelling destinations. If you want to see some of my captions, go follow my Instagram account @usfakrnwan. And don’t forget to love my posts!

One more, I love design. I took a role as a graphic designer for some events in my campus.

I already told my name above and some quick introduction on this blog profile. Go check it then!

I am an Indonesian if you ask.

Why I am blogging

There are some reasons why people start blogging. Susan Gunelius, a blogging expert, listed those reasons.

  1. To express thoughts and opinions – you have something to say, and blogs provide a place to say it and be heard.
  2. To market or promote something – for business purposes.
  3. To help people – like a parenting and health-related blogs.
  4. To establish as an expert – blogs are wonderful tools to help bloggers establish themselves as experts. For example, if you’re trying to get a job in a specific field or hoping to publish a book on a specific topic, blogging can help legitimize your expertise and expand your online presence and platform.
  5. To connect with people like you – people brings like-minded people together. Starting a blog can help you find those people and share your opinions and thoughts.
  6. To make a difference – many blogs are issue-based meaning the blogger is trying to provide information to sway people’s thinking in a certain direction. Many political blogs and social issues blogs are written by bloggers who are trying to make a difference in their own ways.
  7. To stay active or knowledgeable in a field or topic – successful blogging is partially dependent in posting frequency and providing updated, fresh information.
  8. To stay connected with friends and family – a simple way for family and friends for sharing stories, photos, videos, and more.
  9. To make money – there are many bloggers who bring in big bucks.
  10. To have fun and be creative – some of the best and most interesting blogs started out as blogs that were written just for fun and to give the blogger a creative outlet.

That’s what Susan said. Then, what are my reasons? My answer is all of those 10 reasons.

But my main purpose of blogging is related to the very first question I asked you in this post. Mindset. According to the question, I have a growth mindset. But, is that enough? I think it’s not. I want to make it grow over and over again. I want to be more creative. I want to be more knowledgeable. How can I gain those goals? I think making a good blog post is like making a thesis. There should be several things to be researched to make a good writing. By researching, I can have more knowledge than what I will write in that thesis or in the future blog posts. Is this goal SMART enough? I need your feedbacks. What’s SMART? It’s Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, and Timely. I will discuss it more later in the future post.

What I will be blogging about

Through my passion in Business, Technology, Entertainment, and Design, I will talk about them the most, but some life lessons will also be my topic.

How readers can leave feedbacks

If you have any question, let me know. I will reply your question as soon as possible. Intersted in my posts? Go LIKE it!

“Minimalists rejoice. Less is more in some cases.”

I realize it’s a very long introduction post. But I hope the information brings a good thing.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

